top of page

Experiencing new things


Hello, everyone!

I am back for another update and this time, it is about my experience while working with a writing staff. I had never been part of a writing team before so that concept was completely foreign to me when I became a part of one during this month’s Episodic and Serial Writing course. Although in the past I have been a fan of collaborating with different people while writing and working with a partner when bouncing ideas for future projects, this experience opened my eyes to new possibilities and ways of doing creative work and creating stories. This new experience also added to my future goals as a writer in a big way. In fact, I am already looking for internships or opportunities in which I can continue to be a part of a writing staff because I can envision myself doing this for a living and I want to keep expanding my knowledge surrounded by a group of individuals where we are all working towards the same goal.

This experience taught me that it is an excellent way to learn and shape my creative writing skills. I do not have much expertise in this field or writing scripts in general. I am quite a new comer into this area, and I often feel that everyone around me understands the technicality and art of it a lot more than I do. For this reason, bouncing ideas with a group and revising my work with other people made me realize a lot of bits and tips that helped and will continue to help me improve my work. I also learned my areas of strength and weaknesses in this new part of my writing career. Even though I have worked with people before on writing projects, being a part of a writing staff is different in many ways. One of the main differences is that there are a lot of technical aspects that will be evaluated while working with a working staff. I did not only receive creative feedback, but also a lot of format tips that can be overlooked most of the time (especially if you are as new to this as I am). I also learned a lot about working with Final Draft, a program that I know as I continue to use it further into my career, I will continue to learn and know of all the tools that can aid me while creative my personal work or working with somebody else’s idea when creating specs.

Working with somebody else’s creative property was an entirely new concept for me. I had never written a spec for a world that had already been created beforehand. Working with character’s that already have a voice and an order that can be easily tipped off its balance was both scary and exhilarating all at the same time. I found that I stressed out a lot less about the creative process this way and much more about the technicality of it all. It was an experience that easily could go wrong, but at the same time, you are already following an order, so it is easy to follow the lead and take that stress out of creating work. This experience was extremely gratifying to me, and I can’t wait to continue to explore more and be able to work with talented people in the future. If you’ve never been a part of a writing staff, create your own group. I highly recommend it! Feeding your creativity with other’s feedback is the best way to grow as a writer.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page